2004-2005 Saskatoon Contacts

2004-2005 Saskatoon Contacts

2004-05 Saskatoon Contacts (Midget) The 2004-2005 edition of the Saskatoon Contacts was a strong and formidable opponent. The Contacts took the Saskatchewan Midget “AAA” Hockey League by storm, finishing with a regular season record of 38 wins, 3 losses, 2 ties and 1 overtime loss. Lead by a leadership group which included’ Team Captain, Cody Danberg, along with Assistant Captains’ Brady Wacker, Ryan Adams and Scott Brownlee. Notable players on the roster that season, included the likes of National Hockey League players’ Luke Schenn and Eric Gryba.

The Saskatoon Contacts were ranked first heading into playoffs, the Saskatoon Contacts would claim the Provincial title after finishing with 9 wins and 3 losses, beating the Notre Dame Hounds in the league final. After winning the Western Regional against their Manitoba opponents, the Saskatoon Contacts secured a spot in the 2005 National Midget “AAA” Championship. The Saskatoon Contacts made their way to Gatineau, Quebec for a 6 team, round-robin tournament. The Contacts would finish with 4 wins and 1 tie before the playoff round began. The black and orange Contacts would play Don Mills, representatives from Ontario in the Semi-Final. After beating Don Mills by a score of 3 to 1, this setup a National Final against the host team, Gatineau Intrépide. The game began as expected, fast paced and physical to set the tone. Scoring by Makstr Lacoursiere, Nick Kalnicki, David Richard and Russell Goodman proved to be enough as the Saskatoon Contacts claimed the National title by a score of 4 to 1.

The Contacts capped the year off as National Champions along with claiming the prestigious Mac’s Midget “AAA” Invitational Tournament earlier that season.

Back to Inductees